E-invoicing in Norway: deadlines and rules

At a glance

A proposal of 5 May 2026 would make B2B e-invoicing mandatory from 1 January 2027 in EHF 3.0+ over Peppol/ELMA, and PDF by email would no longer comply. Detailed regulations and exemptions were not final on 27 September 2026. B2G via EHF has applied since 2019.

For the VAT status “VAT-registered”.
Size bandReceive sinceIssue from
All businesses (exemptions not final) proposed Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items
proposed Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items

Verified:

Who is affected

Scope: Receiving in EHF 3.0+ over Peppol/ELMA, implied by the issuing proposal

Issuing phases

  • Not specified; exemptions not final proposed Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
    unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items

    B2B issuing in EHF 3.0+ via Peppol/ELMA; PDF by email will not comply

    Proposal of 5 May 2026. Detailed regulations and exemptions were not final as of 27 Sep 2026.

Small-business regime: Not captured in research

Must receive e-invoices: no · Must issue e-invoices: no

unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items

The 2027 mandate is a proposal and its exemptions were not final.

Model and platform

Post-audit (decentralised, no clearance)

Platform: Peppol / ELMA; DFØ is the Norwegian Peppol Authority

No tax-authority platform today. The proposal would route B2B invoices over Peppol, with ELMA as the address register.

Formats and networks explained

Formats

E-invoice formats in Norway
FormatSyntaxVersionMust be acceptedNotes
EHF 3.0+UBL 2.1 (Peppol BIS Billing 3.0 based)3.0 or lateryesFormat of the proposed 2027 mandate; PDF by email will not comply. Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary

Channels and accreditation

Transmission channels in Norway
ChannelKindRequiredNotes
Peppol / ELMAPeppolyesRequired by the proposed mandate from 1 Jan 2027.

Vendor accreditation

No accreditation · Required: no

No accreditation regime is described in the research for the proposed mandate. Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary

Receiving: how invoices reach you

Receiving duty: proposed Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary

unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items

The research describes the issuing duty; a separate receiving duty is not stated.

What to set up

  • ELMA (Every business receiving e-invoices): Norwegian Peppol address register.
  • Peppol Access Point (Every business in scope of the proposed mandate): Required route under the proposal.

Sending: what buyers expect

Formats to produce: EHF 3.0+

Public sector

Public-sector e-invoicing since law Source: VATupdate · 27 Sept 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary

Peppol (EHF)

Formats: EHF (Peppol BIS Billing 3.0)

EHF over Peppol since 2019.

Corporate buyers on SAP Business Network, Coupa, Tungsten or Basware: see Integrations.

Archiving

Retention period: 5 years Source: Lovdata · 19 Jun 2026 · verified 16 Oct 2026 · official

The period starts: End of the financial year

  • 5 years: Bokføringsloven §13 (since 1 Jan 2015; was 10). 3.5 years applies only to contracts, correspondence and similar (items 5-8), not invoices. 10 years for capital goods with input VAT ≥ NOK 100k.
  • Bokføringsforskriften §7-5 (2025): electronic records may be kept in the EEA, UK or Switzerland after written notice to the tax office. Lov 19 Jun 2026 nr 39 (in force 1 Jan 2027 per Lovdata) requires electronic invoices to be kept in their original format.

Integration points

  • ELMA (Every business receiving e-invoices): Norwegian Peppol address register.
  • Peppol Access Point (Every business in scope of the proposed mandate): Required route under the proposal.

Common accounting and invoicing tools

Tripletex · Fiken · PowerOffice Go · 24SevenOffice · Conta

What this means for you

Generated from the decision rules of our check for four typical profiles. Your answers may differ; run the check for your case.

Check my obligations for Norway

Deadlines

Show deadlines for
  1. B2G e-invoicing in EHF over Peppol law Source: VATupdate · 27 Sept 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
    Suppliers to public bodies · public sector, issue
  2. Mandatory B2B issuing in EHF 3.0+ via Peppol/ELMA proposed Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
    unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items
    Norwegian businesses issuing B2B invoices · issue, receive
  3. Mandatory digital bookkeeping proposed Source: EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
    unverifiedWe found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text. See unverified items
    Norwegian businesses · technical

Join the beta waitlist

Run the four-question check and leave your email at the end. We use it only to contact you about the beta, with double opt-in.

Check my obligations

Sources

  1. Lov om bokføring (bokføringsloven) §13 · Lovdata · 19 Jun 2026 · verified 16 Oct 2026 · official
  2. Norway proposes to introduce mandatory e-invoicing from 1 January 2027 · EY · 8 May 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
  3. Briefing document and podcast: e-invoicing and e-reporting in Norway · VATupdate · 27 Sept 2026 · verified 15 Oct 2026 · secondary
  4. E-invoicing legislation research, status as of 15 October 2026 (internal evidence log) · einvoice project · 15 Oct 2026 · verified 16 Oct 2026 · secondary · internal document docs/research/einvoicing-legislation-2026-10.md

Unverified items

We found this in secondary sources or sources disagree; we have not yet confirmed it in the official text.

  • Enactment status of the 1 Jan 2027 mandate: the proposal of 5 May 2026 is described as proposed or draft; detailed regulations and exemptions were not final as of 27 Sep 2026.
  • A separate receiving duty is not stated; it is inferred from the issuing proposal.
  • Penalties and small-business rules are not covered by the research.
  • Norway is outside the EU; ViDA dates are not recorded for it.

4 logged changes for Norway